Hashing it Out

Simple Internet Indexing

Cures Clutter

I’ve been playing with hashtags since at least 2012, when I first blogged about the subject and shared some of my favorite personal hashtags.  I don’t think Twitter nvented the hashtag, but starting in 2009, they certainly fostered the trend.  In any case, both the inventor and the popularizers have my thanks and praise.

Hashtags are really coming into their own with journalists and social justice warriors worldwide.  They’re helpful as advertising hooks to publicize and comment on specific events, both non-profit and commercial.  There’s even a new word that’s been invented. “Hashtivism” is the noun that describes people who use hashtags in promoting their favored causes online, an activity that is now referred to as hacktivism.  Here’s a bit of my tongue-in-cheek hacktivism:

Examples of Marijuana Hack-hash-tivism

Greenhouse TweetDownsides include never really getting any time off from ‘work’ and dealing with an environment full of exceptionally vibrant colors and sounds. Pass the Doritos.

This is Great! Now Let’s Ruin It!

Like everything good that comes along, costs nothing, and might be marginally useful to a corporation in fattening shareholder value, many companies now promote hashtags  in campaigns alongside their more familiar brand logos.  Trademarking a hashtag only protects it from commercial exploitation by others, not against using it in protests against your company, and hashtivists are quick to turn an ill-conceived corporate event hashtag around and use it in direct opposition to that intended by the business interests involved.  Social media business tip provided gratis.  You’re welcome.

My Most Popular Twitter Tag is #timages

DudeBro Moment

I’m not totally immune from the appeal or application of social hacktivism, but the predominant reason I use hashtags on my internet posts isn’t for some cause I’m supporting, it’s simply to be able to find MY own content no matter what social network I planted the original on. I’ll invent and forget oddball or goofy ones tossed in as asides.  I’ve disciplined myself to take the trouble to add hashtags to posts and comments in order to be able to  “Google-Out” specific content across the myriad of social networks I engage in.  Prolificacy has it’s price.   There’s a reason I’m sometimes referred to as the “Baby Daddy” to a billion abandoned blog comments.  I was blogging for at least a decade before hash tagging was even an option.  I’m guessing the bulk of my best nineties content, outside that pittance of an amount I managed to drag along with me to the present, is locked deeply away somewhere in the dusty corridors of archive.org.  I know because I’ve managed to retrieve an item or two from the era via that archive.

Up tomorrow?  A more complete look at my contemporary list of favorite and useful #Timtags.

Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

